Each user in Spark has a profile containing all their personal information and other details associated with their account.
You can update user information individually or make changes to multiple users at the same time using Bulk edit.
Editing user details
You can update details such as:
- First and Last name;
- Email address;
- Mobile number;
- Username;
- Organisation Unit;
- Tags; and
- Any custom or feature related fields.
To edit a single user:
-
Select users from the dashboard.
- Search for and select the user.
-
Select the Personal details & account tab.
You can then update the information held against the user's account.
Some fields may be required depending on your LMS setup. This can include the user's first name, last name, email address, username or profile photo.
Once you have made the required changes, select Save changes.
Editing user details in bulk
You can use Bulk Edit to make changes to multiple user accounts at the same time.
This is different from bulk updating users, which allows you to download user account information, make changes in a spreadsheet and upload the updated file back into Spark.
-
Select the Users tab from the dashboard.
-
Use Filter to find the group of users you want to update.
You can filter users using criteria such as Tags, Roles or Organisational Unit. You can also use the search feature to find users by information such as their email address.
- Select Bulk actions
- Select the users you want to update, or select Select all () to select all users in the current list.
-
Select Bulk Edit.
Tip: You can paste multiple email addresses into the Filter by email field to search for multiple users at once.
You can make changes to certain fields, including:
- Status of the accounts;
- Account permissions for being able to receive training, communications, and if they are visible in the user list;
- The Organisation Unit of the accounts;
- The Time zone the accounts are operating in; and
- Adding or Removing Tags for the accounts selected.
For many fields, you can choose No changes or Set value to...
Tags have additional options for adding or removing tags.
When you have edited these fields to the changes you require, click Continue.
You will then have the opportunity to review the changes you are implementing, before confirming. If you need to make any changes, click Back. When you are ready, click "Save changes...".
As a final confirmation, you will then be shown a prompt asking you to confirm. Once you confirm on this prompt, the changes will be actioned on the accounts.
Type "YES" into the field as indicated, and click "Save changes" to apply the update to the user accounts.